krotdi.blogg.se

Selmer reference 54 alto saxophone review
Selmer reference 54 alto saxophone review












selmer reference 54 alto saxophone review

Here’s the description of the BSS Heritage alto saxophone neck in Jack’s own words from the Boston Sax Shop website: I told Jack I was interested and he was kind enough to send me a bare brass Heritage neck to tryout and perhaps review. I doubted I would like the sound of it more than the original Reference 54 sax neck but maybe it would get rid of that annoying gurgle in the low end for me. Now the point of all this is that when Jack Tyler from the Boston Sax Shop told me he had a new BSS Heritage alto sax neck that was amazing and asked if I would like to try it, I was curious. That’s my long story, thanks for being patient. That got rid of the gurgle but it also changed what I loved about how the horn sounded so I took out the cork and just lived with the gurgle.) It was a drag but the rest of the horn was incredible so….whatever…… (Just so you know, the repairman also tried putting some cork in the bow of the sax. I asked the repairman and he said he noticed it also but there was no leaks anywhere on the horn. I was excited when I went to pick it up! I played it and guess what? It still had the gurgle. I took it to my repairman who went over it with a fine tooth comb. I didn’t think it was any big deal as I assumed it had a leak which is not uncommon with new horns unfortunately.īoston Sax Shop Heritage Alto Saxophone Neck The one bad thing I noticed about it was that it had a gurgle in the low notes of the horn around low B and C. I whipped out my credit card and bought it that same day. The Reference 54 alto sax was the first alto I tried where I was immediately in love. Selmers, Yamahas, Yanis, etc…….I tried a ton. I had been looking for an alto sax for like 5 years but every one I tried just seemed mediocre to me. When I tried it in the store, I fell in love. You see, my Selmer Reference 54 alto saxophone is one of the early models that came with a first generation neck. I have decided to make an exception though. Ever since then, I have pretty much stayed away from other necks and horns because I know it would just confuse me and muddy the saxophone waters more for me.

selmer reference 54 alto saxophone review

It was neither good nor bad but just different and it threw me for a loop. It played great and I thought I could use it instead of my Selmer SBA tenor but I quickly found out that every mouthpiece I owned sounded and responded very different on the new horn.

selmer reference 54 alto saxophone review

I learned that years ago when I bought a RS Berkeley tenor saxophone. The reality is that changing the saxophone neck or the saxophone itself can dramatically change the sound and response of any mouthpiece. So much of my time is already consumed with trying so many different saxophone mouthpieces that adding necks and saxophones to the mix is just too overwhelming for me. I have to admit, I usually stay away from anything to do with trying saxophone necks or different brands of saxophones.














Selmer reference 54 alto saxophone review